EWC Logo

About us banner
EWC appoints new deputy Chair of its ITE Accreditation Board
EWC appoints new deputy Chair of its ITE Accreditation Board

The Education Workforce Council (EWC) is delighted to announce the appointment of Dr Christine Jones as Deputy Chair of its Initial Teacher Education (ITE) Accreditation Board.

Christine joined the board in November 2022 bringing with her a vast amount of experience, having held roles including Head of the School of Welsh in the University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD), Assistant Dean Quality, and Dean of the Institute of Education and Humanities in UWTSD. She retired from full-time employment in 2022.

Speaking of her appointment as Deputy Chair, Christine Jones said “Initial teacher education means a lot to me since teachers play a vital role in supporting and encouraging young people to develop.

“The board is also so important since it helps ensure that there is a consistency across all the providers, as well as being a forum for lively professional debate and sharing good practice.”

Christine has also published books and articles on sociolinguistics and applied linguistics, including several books for Welsh language learners.

Welcoming Christine to her new role, Chair of the ITE Accreditation Board, Hazel Hagger said “I am delighted that Christine, with her extensive knowledge of, and expertise within, education in Wales has been appointed as Deputy Chair of the board.”

The EWC has a statutory responsibility to accredit ITE programmes in Wales and monitor their compliance against Welsh Government criteria. The EWC delegates responsibility for accrediting ITE programmes to the board.

The board consists of up to 13 members, including the Chairperson and two deputies, all drawn from different fields of education.

Visit the EWC website for more information on accreditation and the role of the ITE Accreditation Board.