Contact us  Search

ITE Board

Initial Teacher Education (ITE) Accreditation Board Appointment of members

We are looking for a number of talented and conscientious committee members to join the EWC’s ITE Accreditation Board (the Board), Chaired by Professor John Furlong OBE. The Board is responsible for ascertaining the professional acceptability of all programmes of Initial Teacher Education (ITE), leading to Qualified Teacher Status, in Wales.

If you can contribute your time, experience and leadership, a minimum of 20 days a year and are interested in exploring this opportunity, please call the team at 029 2046 0099 to request an application pack prior to the submission deadline of 16 November 2018, or download here

We are especially looking for members with extensive experience at a senior level in one or more of the following: initial teacher education, schools, inspection, higher education, quality assurance and professional regulation.

Meet the Board

The Board currently consists of nine members, including the Chairperson and two deputies. The Cabinet Secretary for Education announced on 15 June 2017 that the Chair and Deputies had been appointed through the public appointments process. EWC then published an advert to recruit Board members, who were appointed on 31 July 2017, following a sifting process.

John Furlong Chairperson – Professor John Furlong
Emeritus Professor of Education, Oxford University Department of Education, and Emeritus Fellow of Green Templeton College, Oxford
Aine Lawlor photo Deputy – Dr Áine Lawlor
Former CEO, Teaching Council Ireland
Olwen McNamara photo Deputy – Professor Olwen McNamara
Professor of Teacher Education, University of Manchester
Catherine Evans photo Member – Catherine Evans
Assistant Director, Estyn
Tracy Jones photo Member – Tracy Jones
Headteacher, Merllyn Primary School, Flintshire
Sarah Lewis photo Member – Sarah Lewis
HM Inspector, Estyn
RichardParsons Member – Richard Parsons
Education Consultant
Anita Rees photo Member – Anita Rees
Former Acting Headteacher, Ysgol Gyfun Ystalyfera
Hazel Hagger Member -Hazel Hagger
Former Director of Professional Studies, Oxford University Department of Education


The EWC website uses cookies. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them please see our privacy policy.