Education Workforce Council

Tel: 029 2046 0099 | Email: | Twitter link@ewc_cga | yt icon mono dark YouTube

ITE Banner
Initial Teacher Education (ITE) Accreditation Board
Initial Teacher Education (ITE) Accreditation Board

Meet the Board

The EWC delegates responsibility for accrediting ITE programmes to its ITE Accreditation Board (the Board).

The Board consists of twelve members, including the Chairperson and two deputies, all drawn from different fields of education.

Hazel Hagger Chairperson – Dr Hazel Hagger
Former Director of Professional Studies, Oxford University Department of Education
Aine Lawlor photo Deputy – Dr Áine Lawlor
Former CEO, Teaching Council Ireland
Olwen McNamara photo Deputy – Professor Olwen McNamara
Professor of Teacher Education, University of Manchester
Beth Dickson photo Member – Dr Beth Dickson
Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow
Catherine Evans photo Member – Catherine Evans
Assistant Director, Estyn
Tracy Jones photo Member – Tracy Jones
Headteacher, Merllyn Primary School, Flintshire
penny lewis Member – Penny Lewis
Former HM Inspector, Estyn
Sarah Lewis photo Member – Sarah Lewis
HM Inspector, Estyn
Gemma Long photo Member – Gemma Long
Head of Education Quality and Policy, University of Cambridge
Robert Newsome Photo Member – Robert Newsome, OBE
Former Head Teacher, Ysgol Bro Dinefwr
RichardParsons Member – Richard Parsons
Education Consultant
Anita Rees photo Member – Anita Rees
Former Acting Headteacher, Ysgol Gyfun Ystalyfera